My New Oil Bill

favhouseonfrench

Six months from now, the view out of my window will once again look like this. We cannot avoid it. I have thought about leaving and moving south, but I don’t like humidity or the creatures that come with a southern climate. I also have lived through one hurricane on an island in the Atlantic and I don’t intend to live through another one. So I’m stuck here. And of course, I couldn’t leave my husband at the home without me to visit him.

So six months from now I will be ducking snowflakes, walking gingerly on ice and wearing a coat.

The good news, though, is that my oil bill will be minuscule compared to this past year ……….. I have paid over $6K to the oil company since October. Part of it was left over from last year ……… the year my husband was still home and ill and freezing to death all the time. $3K of it was for heat this year. Can you imagine? That’s $3,000 for basically 5 months of heating. That’s $600 a month. It’s insane.

I watch the news and they talk about unemployment, about which I could write a book. They talk about the middle class and how they’re being squeezed. I used to be middle class. I wouldn’t mind being middle class again. They talk about the prices of food going sky-high and about the cost of a gallon of gasoline and about the government wanting to regulate coal plants so we have healthy air to breathe. Of course, we will be starving, gasping for that breath of fresh air with our dying breaths. We will be freezing to death because electricity is also necessary to run a furnace, any furnace or boiler.

My bill will be 44% of what it was this year. I will pay that same amount for another 12 months ……… paying the piper so I won’t freeze in January and so they’ll keep delivering oil every month. Six months from now I will be warm.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Rachael says:

    Isn’t it awful? I wouldn’t mind my house but it’s big and old and drafty and I know oil will just keep getting higher and higher. I need a fairy godmother!

    Like

  2. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    Well, we were paying more than $600 a month last year, I have to agree prices are insane.

    Like

  3. Rachael says:

    Reblogged this on A Little Fluff and commented:

    And I will be buying oil from Cheap Oil – not these folks. I won’t spend another thin dime with RH Foster. And I will do everything I can to make sure nobody else I know does either.

    Like

  4. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    It looks quite pretty! We don’t get this type of weather… Yes it looks cold and yes your oil bill might be a bit high but what a view out your window!

    Like

Leave a Reply

