Supper Tonight!

DSC_2602

This gorgeous concoction involves Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry – always a good idea, spinach, onions, Gruyère, parmesan, garlic, nutmeg, black pepper, eggs and about 30 minutes in a 375 degree oven. Numb.

I cooked a whole tub – about 11 oz. of Olivia’s Organic Baby Spinach until just tender. Meanwhile, I sautéed chopped red onions in 1/4 cup butter until translucent and then added 4 chopped garlic cloves, the cheeses, the spinach, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg, 3/4 tsp. of black pepper, 1 tsp salt (kosher), 3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs and 4 extra-large eggs. I smooshed this together and plopped it on top of 1 sheet of the puff pastry, leaving a border of about 1.5 inches. I stretched out the other sheet of pastry and after putting egg wash on the bottom layer, I put the top on and pressed it down with a fork. A little egg wash on top and then I baked it at 375 for 30 minutes.

The inspiration for this came from Barefoot in Paris, although I did change the recipe a bit. I added more crumbs, eliminated pine nuts (good God they want $11 for a tiny jar) and I used less salt. I cannot wait to try this! Bon Appetit!

A note after eating this – very good, but …….. I would add feta next time and skip the Gruyere. It needs bunches more flavor and DS said the nutmeg was too much. I would drop that down to 1/4 tsp. I couldn’t taste it! I wonder if I didn’t mix it up well enough. 😦

4 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks beautiful! I’m really hungry now!

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    Nice, especially the no pine nuts. They give me a terrible aftertaste that lasts for weeks.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    This is seriously easy and you could borrow Rene’s spoon ……….

    Like

  4. WHY ARE YOU DOING THIS TO ME???????? You know I want to eat all of your bread and food. Argggg. It looks SO DELICIOUS. I live on cheese sandwiches and Um, whatever my son-in-law feeds me when I go over there. OMG Jennifer. So Yummy looking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

