Wish I Knew How to Do Things

bird

It will come as no surprise that I have a limited amount of money. I am retired. Permanently retired. I love that part. I do not want to go to work. I will not go to work. Hopefully.

The only problem with having a limited amount of money is that when something breaks I can’t call a repairman right away unless it is an emergency, like when the pipes to my hot water steam heat system knocked so loud they almost came through the walls.

Tonight, while I’m sitting in the dining room surfing as usual – I smelled this awful smell. I looked into the kitchen and I saw smoke coming out of the dishwasher. It wasn’t cold enough for there to be steam in the kitchen. The dishwasher stopped running. I went out and looked at it – let’s face it, that’s all I can do – and made sure it was shut off. It is.

This isn’t a new dishwasher. It was here when we moved in and I should have replaced it then. Anyway, I will either need to replace it – or just get it out of the kitchen because it is busted, dead, no work no more.

I don’t think I need a dishwasher. There are only two of us and we don’t do large meals that dirty a ton of dishes – the way I used to cook when DH was home. I have no problem washing dishes. I like washing dishes.

I just need to find someone to dismantle the hook-up to this thing and get it out of my kitchen. Then I’ll have a very large cabinet to put shelves or baskets or something in.

I’m glad I was still in the dining room. Phew. I’d say that was almost a fire. And I’m glad the dishwasher stopped on its own. I just wish I knew how to do mechanical things. It would be nice if DS did too, but forget that. Never a more un-mechanical person was born than DS. He’s artistic and trained as a graphic designer. I wish he’d trained as a plumber ……………

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    It’s low on my list of priorities but I don’t like washing dishes – I see a new dishwasher in my future!

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    I hope you find someone willing to take it our for you. Perhaps you could advertise on Craig’s list, someone could maybe use the parts.

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    I will miss that part of living in a village – there’s always someone willing who will come over and do an odd job in return for a few quid instead of calling someone pricey out of the phone book.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I guess he did – poor thing …….. always creating something. He’s done several animations and now he’s working on a graphic 2d/3d comic book …….. I’m going to put a curtain over the dishwasher until I can find someone to take it out. Oddly enough, they aren’t listed in the phone book! DH said it was an electrical fire that shut it down. I said could it have been the motor and he said No, the wires …….. at least it’s cool he can still say that much. I love it – I’m almost glad it crapped out!

    Like

  5. Denise says:

    Did DS get some of his artistic nature from you? You are always making and appreciating beautiful things.

    Shame about the dishwasher – I know you won’t miss it but such a nuisance to have to call someone out.

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    First I would need to convince him that it’s necessary. Not worth it. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. LOL Perhaps he can design a way to get it out:) Worth a shot. Sorry about the dishwasher. I haven’t used mine is so many years I don’t think it would work if I even wanted to try it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

