Experimenting!

As a part of my Socks with Sarah May Challenge, I first started Hermione’s Everyday Sock pattern using a Zen Yarn Garden hand painted yarn. It is beautiful yarn. I love the feel and the colors – but in the pattern I didn’t like it at all. The pretty pattern got lost in all the color – you can see it here

DSC_2571

And to tell the truth, I didn’t enjoy knitting this pattern. It was slow and it might have been my yarn, but I couldn’t see any great pattern happening that I wanted to continue. At first, I thought I would just try another yarn. When I got my yarn out – I had another idea.

A week or so ago I found a book called Treasury of Knitting Patterns by Barbara Walker. It was split up from the original book into three republished books. I did a little searching on used book engines and I found a paperback copy of the original for less than $8. They want $27 for each of the other books. I bought it.

This book is basically a stitch dictionary with all sorts of knitting stitch combinations from simple to complex to beyond complex. I love having the “recipe” for stitches that I can use in place of boring old stockinette when I want. Some of the patterns I have collected over the last year or so have MILES of stockinette stitch and since I usually knit in the round – that means I knit every row on and on and on.

I thought it would be cool – and possible – for me to insert one of these stitch patterns into the cuff of my sock for the Challenge. How neat is that for “doing something different” which is the point of the Challenge? I am not suicidal yet so I decided to find a stitch pattern with an even number of stitches or at least multiples of 4. I don’t get that yet so bear with me. Once I figure out what the multiples mean beyond don’t do it if you don’t have the right number of stitches, I’ll let you know.

I chose to do the Roman Double Rib – and here is a small example in my chosen yarn, Fleece Artist Kidazzle in Caicos:

DSC_2572

It is basically a k1p1 rib or p1k1 rib broken by knit stitches and ribbing horizontally. I like it. Here’s another view:

DSC_2573

How neat is that?

While I’m working on socks – I also have other projects on the go. I started another Boxy and haven’t done much on it yet – it involves 19 inches or more of stockinette stitch in the round. Here’s what I have done so far. The wool is Brooklyn Tweed Loft. It is a rougher wool than merino. It is absolutely gorgeous as it knits up. I’m assuming it will soften up a lot when washed.

DSC_2575

I love the melange of color. There’s white and gray and almost black. When I need mindless knitting – this is what I pick up.

I will be back to knitting tonight – making a trip to the nursing home today. I love knitting. Such immense satisfaction from a little string ………..

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Maju says:

    Exactly!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    Just as I thought – if you don’t have the right amount of stitches – don’t do it!

    Like

  3. Maju says:

    If you don’t have the right number of stitches to do a complete repeat your pattern will have an incomplete section. Same goes for number of rows in a pattern repeat – you have to do the full number of rows or your pattern will break off partway through.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    A fine compliment from my spiritual coach!

    Like

  5. your deep understanding of the what i may call the metaphysics of knitting is quite spiritual in its dedication – i find your knitting thoughts most intriguing and engaging

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    Thanks! πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. The gray sweater is going to be fabulous. I love the color. I also like the green and blue sock. It reminds me of the ocean and I like the pattern:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

