Self Control

I just stopped myself from buying something. Naturally it was yarn. Not really yarn, hemp yarn. It’s on sale until the end of the month and I was tempted. Until I figured out I would save less than $20. And until I spotted another one I might want more ………

I had this problem with fabric too. I would find fabric I like, decide what I might use it for and then buy it. Once it came time to sew it up, the original plan had a hole in it. I didn’t like the item I’d planned for it any more. Same thing happens with yarn and sweaters. I think I would like the yarn and sweater and then by the time I get around to it – I don’t like it that well.

Thankfully I stopped myself. There will be yarn out there later on. I did buy a pattern and I will need some new needles in the correct size ——— I wish everything I made used the same size needle, but they don’t.

I am “off” today. So far I’ve mopped the kitchen floor, knocked plaster off the ceiling in my upstairs sun porch (memo get roof on sun porch repaired) which is only useable for a few months out of the year. It’s either too hot or too cold in there although it is a beautiful room. It’s painted yellow and there are eight brand new windows looking out at the backyard, such as it is. I love that room and use it for messy jobs like painting silk. It was also Maggie’s nursery until she was ready for the big wide world of the whole house. She loves that room.

Unlike Chicago (read thisย http://gigisrantsandraves.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/okay-so-52/, it is 74 degrees here at this moment. Pretty nice for Maine in May. The rains are coming though and it looks like we’ll have at least at week of them.

I ripped my sock out and brought down the blue yarn to give it a try. I’m sure it will be better – it’s the plainest one I have! I must make a note to buy a little solid yarn ………… no no no no no no no no no.

newyarn1

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m so excited! I’m using the blue/green and I’m doing my own texture pattern on the cuff (that I got from Barbara Walker’s Treasury of Knitting Stitches) and I love it! Much better than Hermione’s sock!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    I love the yarn – but this pattern? Nah. I decided to change the pattern – I found an old book on knitting patterns and am putting my own texture pattern on the cuff – so far so good! I’m also using the blue and green yarn in the big picture. I love it.

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    Wow, interesting swirls of colour.

    Like

  4. Ooooh, those are beautiful yarns in that last picture. Gorgeous, rich colours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

