Some Things We Brought Back From Canada

 

 

plage-de-cavendish-ile-du-prince-edouard-canada-d7c45dcb-5d87-4b76-bfcc-f71546e5847e

We lived on Prince Edward Island from 1999 to 2007. I have remarked upon parts of the Island we found intolerable – okay, I found intolerable – earlier. I will just insert that upon arriving back in the USA, I kissed the ground.

The above photo was taken at Cavendish. We lived on the eastern side of the Island, way close to the ferry at Wood Island. It was beautiful country and nobody on the Island is more than 10 miles away from either the Northumberland Strait or the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The Island smells nice. There is little or no pollution except in August when the heat wave would hit and the humidity would hang around forever.

I didn’t love being on an island. I think a lot of it had to do with island fever – I wanted to get off bad. Also, if you did get off and travel to civilization where more than two people congregated at one time, chances were pretty good that a storm would kick up and you wouldn’t be able to go home. The Confederation Bridge presented some of my biggest nightmare driving experiences. The sides of the bridge were only concrete barriers like they put up for construction or as a bomb block. That was it. There was nothing else. The bridge is 14 miles long and HIGH so ships can go under it. It is always windy. The wind would cut through every crack in those barricades and pick up the front of my car. The bridge would be closed to traffic during times of high winds. I never once drove over that bridge without having white knuckles.bridge

There were, despite all my chatter, some things we brought back from PEI that make me glad I lived there. I know now that I will never live anywhere but America. In America, we all know where we are. We got it. We know who we are and most of us don’t give a rat’s behind what other people are doing. If we are not like that, people will ignore us anyway. I like that.

I learned to appreciate beauty. The landscape, the ocean, the woods and the trees and hills – they were all breathtaking on PEI. It was also horribly cold in winter, which lasted from November 1 to the end of May. I had snow that didn’t melt until May 15th one year. The wind blew constantly.

I learned not to buy a house where the public has access to any part of my property. We had a trout pond and a dam and people fished off the road. They made noise, left garbage and were generally non-fisherman like. They were jerks.

I learned that I do not like living in the country. I need to hear a siren or two. On PEI, we didn’t even have cops. We had Mounties. They were less than responsive.

We found food we like to eat that I would never have known about. I have never eaten it, but DS assures me it is gourmet food of the highest caliber. It is French and it is poutine:

poutine

It is reported that in Montreal this is used to fill in pot holes in the spring. I believe it. This, in case you cannot tell, is french fries, gravy and cheese curds. My son adores this stuff. He has eaten previously with “the works” hamburger and peas …………

I have never ever ever seen this in any restaurant before. Imagine my delight, while looking at a menu for our local Governor’s Restaurant – which is right down the street – and I come across poutine on the menu! It was supper time. I did not feel like cooking. I asked DS if he could eat some poutine – and got a big yes in reply. So off we went. I did not eat poutine although I can definitely recommend the onion rings! We had a great dinner surrounded by enlarged photos of Maine on the blue walls. The restaurant is lovely and they have a bakery where you can purchase cream puffs and other delicacies. The cream puffs were the size of a small elephant. I did not get one. I will go back. I must have one. They have cream horns too. And eclairs. And cheesecake and pie and strawberry shortcake. They have something called The Federal Deficit which is three or more large slices of cake and 6 sundaes. Banana split, Brownie Delight —— on and on. And they have an Apple Fritter with locally made ice cream and caramel sauce. So I will go back. Soon.

Funny how I wanted to move to France and could not talk DH into it, but one of the most important things we brought back was a love for French haute cuisine …………… go figure.

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. cindy knoke says:

    Yes!!! I have seen poutine and never eaten it. What a fascinating post and I can relate to how desperate the island fever must have made you!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    It’s a beautiful place to visit – pretty remote living there! I found I couldn’t take internet speeds of 28k dial-up ………

    Like

  3. Maju says:

    One of my life’s ambitions is to visit PEI and especially Cavendish because I’ve read the Anne of Green Gables books over and over. My eldest daughter, who is also an Anne fan, and I have tentative plans to go together one day soon.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    LOL! I would have taken the ferry to get on/off but it was scary too – I got sea sick in 6 foot waves …… and the trip onto PEI is free – if you want to leave it’s $55!

    Like

  5. It’s almost midnight and now I’m hungry. That bridge is incredible and scary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

