A Most Uplifting Experience

krishnadas

I love this man. Krishna Das – the Kirtan Wallah has the most beautiful voice I have ever heard. And he is the most spiritually uplifting person I’ve not ever met, but feel I know well.

Yesterday I was a bit tired when time came for peace and quiet. I decided that instead of chanting, I would listen. I have KD’s Door of Faith on my iPod and I plugged him in. Maggie joined me at my feet so we could both get very happy very soon.

Door of Faith is a lovely set of music with some call and response, but with mostly just beautiful songs that don’t rise and swell as much as some other chants. They are peace creating. ย The Sri Hanuman Chaleesa is perfect. The last track on this compilation is totally magical. In God Is Real/Hare Ram, KD sings in English, and it is fascinating. I wish I could duplicate my reaction to this for all of you. My heart just swelled into the most beautiful light and I could feel the energy coming and going, rising and swelling. Magical.

I’m still almost done with my sock – still still still. I’m on the toe decreases now, so it won’t be long.

Tomorrow being Mother’s Day, and me being a mother who loves being a mother, I will have my whole family together in one place. DS is going with me to visit DH and we’re taking along the longed for Baked Apple pies and a milkshake. I hope DH can eat them because it will be after lunch. There is a Mother’s Day Tea tomorrow but we’re going earlier instead to visit. I am thrilled that DS is going along. DH has been asking where he’s at and I know DS has a rough time seeing his Dad ill, but he is as anxious to see him as DH is to see DS. ย Maggie will need to stay at home – she hisses and she might scare a few people. Those who are scared by an 8 lb. cat, that is. Of course if I didn’t know her I’d be scared too. She spent a couple of weeks of her babyhood hiding behind a bookcase in “her” room and hissing at us whenever she saw us. She was 3 lbs. at the time, so I didn’t take her seriously. We had to dangle toys on a string to get her to come out so we could give her medicine. Sometimes it felt like hours and boom right back behind the bookcase she’d go when she could. After a week I let her out to see how she’d respond to the big world of the house. She walked around, finding stuff to hide under. I put her back in her room thinking she would be tired. The most piteous meows followed. I gave up and opened her door and she has been exploring ever since. She’s a good cat – but she will still hiss if she doesn’t know you!

Supposedly The Farmer’s Almanac says we’re going to have a hot, dry summer. Well it must still be spring because it is still chilly and rainy. It rains all the time. It hasn’t made it up past 66 degrees yet ……….. we’re still waiting and we’re looking forward to hot and dry. Way forward.

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    An enlightened soul just doesn’t need the name or title.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    I don’t think Jenniferananda would cut it, do you? Sounds kind of odd.

    Like

  3. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    Those who know do… Those who don’t know…. I could call myself Shri juan ananda but that’s the ego talking.. I’ll call myself Juan…

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I think his real name is Jeffrey something …. he hasn’t used it since the 70’s.

    Like

  5. yeseventhistoowillpass says:

    My Nora is like your Maggie… You open the door and she hisses hello. You let her out and she hisses goodbye. It’s her nature I suppose. Toonce my other cat is easy going and he is good natured. I have met SAI Baba many many years ago and I’ve met the Dali Llama and other spiritually awake souls. I tend to think that those who are spiritually awake need not have to have a Indian sounding name…that’s just me…It’s all about ego and the lack of ego…peace be unto us all..

    Like

  6. Have fun tomorrow:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

