The World Is Awake

spring

It may only be 53 degrees right now, but even Maine is waking up from the horrible winter of 2014. I noticed yesterday that most of the trees have these funny green things sprouting off of them. My lilac bush/tree/monster in my back yard has had buds for quite some time but now the rest of the forest is getting in on the act.

I saw five tulips in bloom in the mini garden too. They’re yellow and they are gorgeous.  I can’t remember a time when I was happier to see signs of spring. I thought this past winter might kill me off.

I’m waking up too – I do have a lot of raw enthusiasm most of the time, but not in the dead of winter. With the help of DS, I’ve moved all the living room furniture and swept behind everything. I’ve cleaned every floor, surface, etc. I can reach. I still have mountains of clothes and stuff to take to Good Will. DH is down to wearing sweat pants and t-shirts so all the clothes he’s accumulated over many, many years can go. Likewise with several good pairs of shoes and boots.

I still have to clean out the refrigerator. God I hate that job. Partial jars of stuff all over and some stuff I’d forgotten. Messy. Soon that too will be done.

We figure we have at least 6, maybe 7 months until it snows again – I intend to be outside for all of it.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Yes and also I can stand to be in my house – the dirt looked awful when the sun started shining!

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    You sure have been busy. I like the idea that you are getting it all done now so you can spend all of the warm days outside.

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    You have had a terrible time of it 😦 I also have to clean the fridge. Big job planned for tomorrow night. Nice new picture of the reflection btw.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    Oh yes dinner for animal friends! I’m surprised the squirrels didn’t get the tulip bulbs ……

    Like

  5. Sounds like a plan. You’ve been busy:) Life is waking up!!!!! Yay! I’m going to get some plants today so the animals can eat them…LOL Some of the leaves on the trees are starting to open:) Yay again:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

