Heel Turned, Gusset Stitches Picked Up

 

 

 

Here’s the first picture – I finished turning the heel and picked up and knit stitches for the gussets. I must admit picking up and knitting is my least favorite thing. I am not dexterous, but it is done.

I’m pleased so far – I have only found one mistake that I have no idea what I did, but hey it’s my first sock and I’m not frogging anymore.

sock5 sock sock1 sock2 sock4

sock2

sock1

I love my little turned heel!

It was a hard day at the nursing home today. DH isn’t strong and was in a wheelchair. The nurse and I hope he gets to stay in one because walking on the walker is just too hard for him. I had her put in a special note from me that he really absolutely needs to be in a chair now.

I’m going back Tuesday instead of skipping two days. He super missed me and I’m going to catch up with visits. He did eat half a hamburger today and some fries. And of course, all of his pickles and most of the pineapple. I may do a take out run for him on Tuesday ——

See how LITTLE THOSE DAMN NEEDLES ARE? That’s why my eyes are crossing …………

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I have totally lost my fear of socks! I’m so glad I got passed that dividing and heel stuff AND got everything back on the needles. I’m pumped! He was in the wheelchair again today – and weepy because he thinks he’s getting worse (which he is but it’s pretty incremental). It’s not like he was skipping down the hall before. I had my heart in my mouth every time I walked him down to his room. I’m meeting with the nurse and social worker soon and I’m going to make sure they know the signs of CBD getting worse.

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    I’m impressed with you sock progress. That is one cute little turned heel. You’re on the home straight now as the foot part is easy. The second sock will be done in no time at all now that you are mastering the first one.
    Hope your husband gets to keep the wheelchair.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I know you know what it’s like. I am going to try to talk to the nurse (different one) tomorrow to see if she can guide the doctor to some muscle relaxants. Sigh. It is a great nursing home but he has a neurological disease, not just dementia, and I’m not sure they’re seeing the whole picture.

    Like

  4. Well, that’s a new one…second sock syndrome. I love it…LOL Something new everyday, for sure:) Socks are all bendy and sweaters are all straight lines, so I would imagine socks would be more difficult. I’m sorry about DH and even though you knew he wasn’t going to get better it’s still so hard to see someone you love get worse. I’m really sorry Jennifer. Just keep knitting.

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Thank you! I like it so far …. how odd socks are harder than sweaters!

    Like

  6. Maju says:

    Your socks are gorgeous! Beautiful colours and beautiful knitting.

    Like

  7. Jennifer says:

    All I can say is it keeps me off the streets …… I sure can’t do it all day long! I hear there’s a thing called Second Sock Syndrome about starting the second one …… hopefully I won’t catch it. Hubby isn’t good. I wish there were something I could do. But there’s not except make him more comfortable.

    Like

  8. If you do actually finish both socks I think you should only take them off to wash them. Wear them until there’s nothing left. OMG…all that work. I’m sorry about DH. Definitely do a take-out run. Get him one of those pies he likes: ) You have one too:) I hope you finish your sock soon:) Not in a million years…I would never make a sock, let alone 2 of them:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

