Sigh.

Photo Credit Misti Alpaca
Photo Credit Misti Alpaca

I know that sounds sad. Sigh. I’m not sad – I’m just confused. I have decided (once again propelling myself into something new and scary) that I want to knit socks.

The only problem I have is deciding which sock pattern to knit. There are thousands of them. And I have specific requirements for my socks. I want normal toes without any seam or ridge because I am delicate (think Miss Piggy) and I want to wear my new socks all the time. I want a sock drawer full of socks.

I want my socks to stay up. I have very skinny legs (particularly for the rest of me, but we won’t go there now). I need socks with lots of stretch in the calf so they won’t fall down all the time and cause me to throw them out.

I want them to be pretty.

Why do I want to make socks?

Socks cost a fortune. Really. And since I’m going to pay a lot of money for socks, I might as well have the fun of knitting them. Except the patterns don’t look like fun. They look incomprehensible. I can do anything, I tell myself. I can learn to knit a sweater or two or make clothes and do my own taxes and type super fast and I can learn to run a business, so why would making socks scare me? Easy. I’ve never done it before.

And then I question my motives. Do I really want to knit socks or just buy yarn? Both, I think. Do I really want to knit socks or just buy those really cool Signature DPNs with which to make my socks. Of course I would think I need a set of needles for $47 in order to save money on socks. Whoot. Sigh.

I have spent the whole day searching Ravelry and everywhere else for a simple sock pattern for a beginner. Sigh. Toe up, cuff down, kitchener or not, turning a heel —– whew.

Since writing the above post a few days ago – and after spending HOURS on the computer searching for what I want – I found it! I found Churchmouse Yarns and Teas last month while searching for Brooklyn Tweed Loft to make another Boxy by Joji. I love the fact that they wind my yarn – and they don’t charge. I also love the design of their website which is stellar. I saw their pattern for Basic Socks and I wanted it. My only question was, is it BASIC enough for me? I hope so because I downloaded it. I also bought Ann Budd’s Getting Started Knitting Socks. I decided that I would learn the old-fashioned way to knit these, top down, first. Then when I get hugely proficient I can branch out.

The only other decisions were the yarn and the needles. Sigh. I had to have those Signature DPNS and so I got them. I will be “testing” the needles to see if they are the best for me. I was a little worried by comments from others about wooden DPNS breaking. Yuck. That was my justification for the Signature Needle Arts needles ………. they can’t break.

It took me most of last evening to decide on the yarn and, once again, Churchmouse won. I got three skeins of Misti Alpaca Hand Paint Socks to begin. There’s three pairs of socks! Three pairs of socks in string form at the moment, just waiting for me to magically transform them into socks.

It may sound silly, but this is exciting. A knitting project that won’t cost a lot of money (a sweater can be ruinous) and which gives me the opportunity to try different yarns all the time – I need that bit of anticipation in my life, I really do!

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I got my yarn and started last night – the needles are so TINY and I had to cast on over and over to get it right without them falling off my needles. I think it will be fun but I’m a long way from finding that out!

    Like

  2. Gilraen says:

    I still have to get back into socks. I only knitted one (not a pair) when I was 10 or 11. My paternal grandmother taught me, but I lost interest then

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    OK I should be able to do that – although I am all thumbs and left-handed knitting as a right-handed person. My Mom was right-handed!

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I can’t wait to get started! It’s such a nice project and doesn’t use so much yarn. I will probably get to the circular needles and toe ups too. It was so hard deciding WHERE to start! Thanks for your comment – nice there are others who like doing this!

    Like

  5. Maju says:

    Socks are my favourite thing to knit! I started out using dpns when I was learning about ten years ago but I’ve since switched to using circular needles. It looks more complicated until you get used to it, but it’s actually much easier. I also started out working top down but now I do nothing but toe up because you end up with no need to join anything at the toe after you’ve finished. I also love working with variegated yarns because perfectly plain socks turn out looking very pretty and interesting.

    Like

  6. suth2 says:

    You are only holding on to two at a time, the other two just hang down behind. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Jennifer says:

    Ooooh I think I’d better use that sticky stuff – it looks awful dag gone hard to me. I mean how does one hold all those needles?

    Like

  8. suth2 says:

    You are so successful with your other creative pursuits I am sure you will soon be a sock expert too. I also have learnt from your blog that you have stickability and that might come in handy while learning sock knitting. πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Jennifer says:

    I think it might take a while! I love your blog – it makes me hungry!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Be sure to show us your socks when they’re done!

    Like

  11. Jennifer says:

    That’s such a good idea! I can do that! We’ll see how the socks go …….. I told Maggie I would make her some too – she sticks her paws under my legs (under the quilts) to sleep – it is SO CUTE!

    Like

  12. You never cease to amaze me. I love this. can’t wait to see the finished product. I wear low tennis socks. I used to wear fun socks but I just wear the boring ones now. You may reignite my sock appreciation streak with your wonderful, yet to come, socks and their fabulous patterns. I get the part about buying yarn. It’s so much fun. I made a zillion cat blanks for shelters because I love cats and I wanted to buy yarn and I finished them fast. I hope the cats liked them. I made some for dogs as well, of course:) Can’t wait to see what you do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

