The Perfect Knitting Needle – A Quest

I’m coming to the end of my Elizabeth sweater. I can’t believe this one has gone so quickly. I started it around the first of the year. Amazing to me that I could be this close to the end.

That fact started me on a quest to find another project. I’m finding that sewing has lost a lot of attraction for me these days. Wrestling with silk velvet killed it. I finally put it away and decided that if I want to fuss with it later, I can. Also if I don’t want to I won’t.

I have enough clothes. I am clothes heavy at the moment and I don’t see anything that appeals to me so much that I want to clean off the sewing table and cut it out. Maybe in the spring I’ll feel like more sewing, but for now? No.

In my search for my new knitting project I just about drove myself nuts looking at patterns. I’m not confidant enough yet to grab a cabled sweater and give it a go. I want something attractive, but easy so I’m not stressing myself out over a hobby that’s supposed to make me feel better, not worse.

I found the yarn quickly. And then I hemmed and hawed and went back and forth over the pattern. In the end I decided to do another Boxy. I like it. It fits. I can wear it anywhere and I wanted one in a nice heather gray.

The yarn that has me salivating is Brooklyn Tweed. It’s all American made (from sheep grown in America too!) and milled at a woolen mill in New Hampshire. Can’t get a whole lot closer to Maine than that! There are 32 colors which are definitely tweeds and there are two weights, a fingering and a worsted. At first I had considered the worsted for a heavier sweater I still plan to make, but once I saw the fingering I knew I would do the Boxy out of that.

After I purchased the yarn, I did some research on Ravelry to see what others had made from it. Oh dear – there were tons of complaints that the yarn had too much vegetable matter in it and also that it broke just looking at it. I becomes nervous. Then I kept reading. The later reviews got better. Some people love the yarn and have no trouble with it breaking and others hate it. It is processed much differently than a merino wool which is spun in a worsted spinning method. This Brooklyn Tweed Loft and it’s companion Shelter, are both spun in the woolen method which gives a much different yarn than most are used to. Well, the yarn came today. Wow. That’s all I can say! It looks good to me. We’ll see if it’s strong. It looks wonderfully strong. I ordered the color (?) Sweatshirt and I can’t wait to finish Elizabeth and get going on the new sweater.

While I’m working on Elizabeth, the cable on my circular knitting needle started driving me crazy. It was curling and kinking and getting all twisted. It’s like trying to knit with a Slinky! Once I cast off the front and the back to work on the left sleeve – that cable twists and turns. It takes more time to try and straighten out the cable than knit. So I went on-line last night and did a search for THE BEST circular knitting needles. I want sharp points, no wooden needles thank you very much and a flexible cable that doesn’t have a mind of its own. I want a smooth join between the needle and the cable so that I don’t feel a snag when I’m moving the yarn over it. And I want them to last.

I had a horrible experience with Nova needles by Knitter’s Pride. I think it was only the second time I had used my 5 needle. I was knitting along and the cable broke! That was the end of Nova needles for me. I have used Prym needles for a while but those are the ones with the cable that’s fighting me now. So what did I find?

This!interchangeable

 

These are Signature Convertible needles and you can custom design the needle size with several different cable assemblies. The pointed ones are called Stilleto but you can get them in Middy points if for some inexplicable reason you don’t want your needles as sharp as humanly possible! I do want sharp. So now I have the yarn (drove myself crazy picking it out) and now? Now I want a 6″ US No 4 stalk and a 32″ cable assembly (not to mention a 6 and a 5 and maybe an 8) You can see them all here http://www.signatureneedlearts.com/circular-needles/signature-convertibles.html and you’ll want them too!  They are also made in America and they are not cheap. They are an investment. Ha. Oil bill or no oil bill, these babies are coming home to Mama!

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Aren’t they pretty? I’m thinking one a month until I get the sizes I use. I pretty much use 4, 5, 6 and maybe a 7 or 8 so it won’t be so bad!

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    Good tools always make the job easier. Well worth the investment. They look lovely!

    Like

  3. Please do. I look forward to reading your review on
    them.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I thought of those too. I’m not sure which is best but I love the look of the Signatures AND the Stilleto point. I’ll let you know how it goes as soon as my needle arrives. I will be saving for more!

    Like

  5. Interesting. I just ordered my first pair of addi turbo circular needles. I’ve heard nothing but good things about them so I decided to give them a try. Still waiting for them to arrive. I never heard of the Signature needles. Hope you are enjoying them. Happy knitting.

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    Thanks for letting me know about Loft – I think it looks wonderful. I want all 32 colors ….. and I can’t wait to get the Signature needles – these cords are SO annoying!

    Like

  7. Love my Signatre needles, too! And I’ve used Loft and had no problems or complaints. In fact, I found it really wonderful to work with. Washes up nice & soft, too. Enjoy!

    Like

  8. Jennifer says:

    Doesn’t a gray sweatshirt sweater sound AWESOME? Okay, maybe a little boring, but I love gray. It reminds me of the weather …….

    Like

  9. Have fun and good luck. Looking forward to the finished project (the one you’re almost finished with right now). The color of the yarn sounds interesting. Gray…sweatshirt. I would love to see it:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

