I Wasn’t Going To Do This …………

I couldn’t resist. When there is ONE thing (maybe two or three) that is driving you batty beyond all belief, you have to write about it. Well, I have to write about it.

You’ve all read the ice storm blog from Hell last December. I swear it hasn’t stopped since then. We don’t usually get the first dirty weather until after Christmas – not this year ………..

Last Wednesday I hurried up and got out to visit my husband at the nursing home. There’s another thing that can drive me nuts – seeing him there – anyway, I went because there was a Nor’easter – yup – Nor’easter expected Thursday and Friday. Then we did the grocery thing. One does not want to be without food during a storm.  It came. It left around a foot of snow and an inch of highly compacted snow because of the rain/sleet we got in-between the bouts of heavy snow.

Today was the first day I could get out to visit DH since Wednesday, which was good and right on time. Any longer and he cries when he sees me. Seeing me more often is better, if you can stomach that. I would think seeing me less often would be good – after all I am a cranky old bitch. Anyway ………. today I visited him and took him a milkshake and two apple pies from McDonald’s for a Valentine’s Day treat. He loved it. He could only eat one pie, but that one he did enjoy.

I went to the gas station, laid in a supply of Diet Coke, bought a Powerball (you never know), cashed in my winning scratch-off ticket (got me $20!) and came home. To this weather forecast:

 WINTER STORM WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 7 PM THIS EVENING TO 1 PM EST SUNDAY…

* LOCATIONS… PARTS OF CENTRAL AND DOWNEAST MAINE

* HAZARD TYPES… HEAVY SNOW ALONG WITH SIGNIFICANT BLOWING AND DRIFTING SNOW.

* ACCUMULATIONS… SNOW ACCUMULATION OF 12 TO 20 INCHES WITH THE HIGHEST AMOUNTS ACROSS WASHINGTON COUNTY.

* TIMING… THIS EVENING THROUGH SUNDAY MORNING.

* IMPACTS… HEAVY SNOW AND STRONG WINDS WILL CREATE VERY HAZARDOUS TRAVELING CONDITIONS. BLOWING AND DRIFTING SNOW MAY CAUSE WHITEOUT CONDITIONS WITH EVEN NEAR BLIZZARD CONDITIONS AT TIMES.

* WINDS… NORTH 20 TO 30 MPH WITH GUSTS UP TO 35 MPH.

* VISIBILITIES… ONE QUARTER MILE OR LESS AT TIMES.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS…

IF TRAVELING… SLOW DOWN AND PLAN EXTRA TIME TO REACH YOUR DESTINATION. BE SURE YOUR VEHICLE HAS A FULL TANK OF GAS. IF YOU GET STRANDED… STAY WITH YOUR VEHICLE.

Yup – two days later and another Nor’easter. Where are these things coming from? Okay I know they’re coming from the southeast – but really. Can we stop now? I am actually laughing hysterically. How much longer CAN this go on? Thank God I live in Penobscot County! I can’t imagine heavier amounts. I think my driveway, sidewalk might develop a sink hole from the weight of all the snow! I feel very Nanuck of the Northy right about now. Like I will never be able to do anything but rush out, go to the nursing home, rush back ………….. please tell me there is more to life than weather reports and dashing visits to the nursing home and rushed grocery shopping.  Please.

13 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Oh if you only knew!

    Like

  2. Jennifer – if there was a love story i would like to write about it would be about you and DH – you are the angel i would like to bless – hehe

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    I sure am! Another day here and another Winter Weather Advisory! Eeeek I need to get out of the house!

    Like

  4. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    This winter has been really terrible so far. We have been messing with the nature too much, thus, all the normal patterns are destroyed. Anyway, the spring shouldn’t be far away. I think everybody is waiting for calm, warm and not attacking weather.

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    Funny how all those books were set in the summer time! And also pretty funny how nice the people were in the books! They are actively hostile to people from away in reality! Even people from other parts of Canada are treated with disdain! Hilarious. Ann of Green Gables is one of the reasons we thought we’d like it there …………..

    Like

  6. Denise says:

    Isn’t that Anne of Green Gables country? Always got the impression that it was sunny there!

    Like

  7. Jennifer says:

    Nutty for sure!

    Like

  8. It’s all completely mad this winter. Endless snowstorms for you, crazy floods for us, heatwaves down under. Bonkers.

    Like

  9. Jennifer says:

    And it’s even colder in Canada – at least it was in PEI! The wind NEVER stopped. Sometimes we would go stir-crazy just listening to the wind rattle around the house!

    Like

  10. Denise says:

    I am just reading The Tenderness of Wolves set in Canada and I am just thinking from your posts *no way* could they have survived outside for days the way it’s described in the book…

    I love apple pies from McDs. No-one else makes them like they do. Lucky hubby!

    Like

  11. Jennifer says:

    And another one on Tuesday ………. maybe Maine will fall off the east coast from too much snow ……

    Like

  12. ARGGGGGGGGGGGGGG!

    Like

Leave a Reply

