OMG Sewing Silk Velvet

I will get a picture and add it tomorrow, promise. I just had to write about this fabric or I would burst.

I bought the loveliest silk velvet several years ago. It’s black with hot pink and multiple other colors in a paisley design. Whenever I look at it, I melt. It is beautiful.

I decided to use it to make Vogue 1367 again. This is the pattern in case you forgot!

boho1

 

It has taken me FOREVER to do the simplest steps on this shirt. The fabric slips and slides so bad I can hardly hold it together to stick pins in it! Being not very patient, this is driving me nuts.

Luckily, I have a Bernina 440QE. It came standard with a walking foot – which I have never, until yesterday, taken out of the box. I am using it now and it is saving my sanity.

I absolutely love this fabric. The black silk on the inside feels wonderful and the velvet on the outside is in a cord texture and catches the light and shimmers. This will be quite a top – provided I can survive the construction without needing medication!

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Inese Poga Art Gallery says:

    Looks beautiful, but I do sewing, as well, and I know that some fabrics are crazy difficult. Strarting with cutting out they can be a real trouble. Self-made things last, and you’ll be able to enjoy the fabric when the shirt is done.

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    I think I screwed it up. I pressed it (on a towel) but part of the yoke looks funny. Ah well – we’ll see. Next item will be made with an easy to sew knit ……..

    Like

  3. suth2 says:

    Sounds divine. You are brave tackling such difficult fabric.

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    Well I bought it because it was advertised “only three yards left – don’t miss it!” What a fool! I love it though – it’s so pretty.

    Like

  5. Jennifer says:

    LOL I may commit harikari with my needle ………

    Like

  6. All I can say is, better you than me and I have two walking feet. LOL You do beautiful work, seriously. The blouse/shirt is amazing.

    Like

  7. Denise says:

    Silk velvet is magical. I have a silk velvet quilt from a sale that I will treasure forever – it’s breathable and soft and warm. but I can’t imagine sewing with it!! You are one brave girl.

    Like

Leave a Reply

