Amazing!

newsweater

 

I’ve been working away on my Elizabeth cardigan by Cecily Glowik MacDonald. I am so amazed with myself! I had just finished (finally) my third attempt at sweater knitting. At any kind of knitting at all. My first project was this one:

photo credit Carrie Bostick Hoge
photo credit Carrie Bostick Hoge

It’s also by Cecily and is truly wonderful but maybe a bit daunting for a brand new knitter. I didn’t finish it. Thankfully I have the pattern and I can and will attempt it again. I’ll make it longer. I just love it.

And then I went on to this one by Joji Locatelli called Boxy. I started one in dusty pink alpaca yarn from Nordic Mart and got to the end with a horrendous amount of visible mistakes. So I started again with a denim like blue and actually finished it!

I love this - Boxy by Joji Available on Ravelry
I love this – Boxy by Joji Available on Ravelry

Someday I’ll photograph the whole sweater on my dress form so you can see the neat and finished thing. I’ve worn it twice already and I feel so proud that I could actually knit something.

When I started knitting Elizabeth, the instructions seemed daunting. I decided to plow on in and see if I could figure out what she meant. I have this huge book of knitting instructions that I bought when I decided to do this. I also have the internet with fabulous how-to references on knitting and everything else. So I began.

Elizabeth is knitted side ways from the right cuff and then you cast on extra stitches for the right front and back and continue to the left front and decrease and cast off stitches and finish with the left arm. After that the only knitting is the collar which the pattern calls for knitting on its own and then seaming to the sweater.

I am done with the right front and knitting the back 6 inches to get over to the left side where I can cast on more stitches for the left front. Wonders! I thoroughly understand the waist slipped rib pattern. I have done it correctly and it shapes the waist area. I have had no problem with the edge of 1 x 1 rib. I am super proud of myself. This sweater is actually easier than any I’ve done. I think that may be because I now know a little bit about knitting! Anyway it’s going very well (knock knock) and I’m pleased.

I have two more bunches of yarn I purchased last year with certain projects in mind. One is a red/pink lace wool for a cardigan and the other is a denim (of course) blue tweed which was also for a cardigan. I keep telling myself that I must finish those up before buying new yarn. It helps that yarn is expensive. I may give in in the spring if I have a little extra cash – we’ll see. Buying yarn is second only to buying fabric and is fast taking first place. I have fabric.

In the sewing room, I’ve adjusted the sleeve on Vogue 1367 to be just a bit wider in the bicep. I have chosen a silk velvet I’ve had for years in a black/pink paisley print and I’m ready to cut out another one. I don’t usually do a pattern repeat back to back (I bore easily) but this one I think I will. Pictures of the fabulous fabric to follow soon.

The weather has gotten better. It’s been in the 30s and 40s for a day or so and then it dives to the teens. I think for the next 10 days it will be in the 20s or 30s. Today the sun is shining. I’m impressed it’s still there.

A funny thing happened on my way to the nursing home Monday. (Doesn’t that sound like the beginning of a joke?) I was stopped by a city cop on the nursing home road. Seems my inspection sticker was expired. Like wow I knew that but I procrastinate. I’m always afraid I’ll take it in and they’ll tell me it’ll be a million dollars or so or maybe a hundred to get it fixed to pass inspection. Anyway he gave me a warning and on my way home I stopped at my dealer for the inspection. First, the inspection was free which was exactly what I could afford and second there wasn’t a thing wrong with the car. Whew. The officer saved me the $132 the ticket would have been by just warning me. I love that officer.

I have another day at home. I’ll be back to the nursing home tomorrow – with my brand new sticker displayed proudly for all to see!

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m so glad he didn’t give me the ticket! I’m also happy I can read a pattern. I’ve found three more I’d like to do!

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    You sure had a good day. That officer has helped make the world a happier place.:-)
    You sound like a really seasoned knitter – with a stash of wool to be worked. So great to hear that you are having success with your knitting. There will be no stopping you now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

