Style Arc Marie Jacket – TaDa! Done!

Seriously I didn’t think I would EVER finish this jacket. It took the whole ball of tricks – and more. If I hadn’t had to deal with the serger, it would have been pleasant.

I used a black double knit from Gorgeous Fabrics. The fabric is very posh looking and I could wear this jacket for dressing up, but since I don’t do that, I’ll wear it with jeans!

The instructions on a Style Arc pattern sometimes have me scratching my head. Luckily there was a drawing on one of the sheets that showed how it looked just putting the front and back together. This was great. The fronts of the jacket are completely faced with the same pattern piece as the actual fronts as well as the neckline. As per instructions, I sewed the facings to the side seams and this worked out very well.

In the first photo you will see how my zipper lays FLAT! I had seen pictures of this jacket where the zipper was waving in the breeze and it didn’t look good. I stabilized the edge of the fabric before I put in the zipper and I had no problems.  I love my zipper – it’s a Riri zipper in dark gray with copper teeth and it’s my favorite thing about this jacket.

The neck drapes and is held by a snap on the inside of the jacket. I’m not a big fan of this and if I do it again I would find another way to secure the left front inside the right front. For now, it’s good.

Because of the double knit fabric and the double fronts, this would be a warm jacket in spring and fall. It would be too hot in the summer, unless you’re way up north. I would probably wear this over a tee-shirt even now. It’s in the 50s here.

What do I like about it? It fits and I love my zipper. What don’t I like about it? It’s black. I’m sallow-skinned with dark hair and I don’t wear a lot of black around my face. I would pair this with a different colored tee and it will look great. You can also wear it open and it looks like a nice waterfall cardigan.

Would I do this again? Probably not. I like it but I can’t see the need for more than one of these and I have a ton of other things I want to make.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. siri2siri says:

    good job on the jacket and it looks great!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    No – I’ve never watched it ………. bad me.

    Like

  3. Are you a Dr. Who fan? Just wondering?

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    Glad you like it! Thanks!

    Like

  5. Amazing! Beautiful jacket. Congrats. 🙂

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    I know – black is such a basic. I have some black flowered print fabric from Betsey Johnson and a nice black and white weird knit I’m going to make tops out of to wear under this. I’m glad you like it!

    Like

  7. Jennifer says:

    Actually I’m all thumbs ………. but thanks a lot for the compliment – I think it turned out good!

    Like

  8. Denise says:

    Seriously impressed with this. The finish is soooo good, and the drape of the collar very stylish. Black is good because it will go with lots of different colours.

    Like

  9. suth2 says:

    I don’t think I would even attempt to put a zipper in knit fabric. You are obviously an extremely competent seamstress. It looks fantastic.

    Like

  10. suzie81 says:

    Looks fabulous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

