I Actually Feel Sorry for Obama

flag

This is not something anyone who knows me would think I would feel. I have long been in the camp that thinks Barack Obama made a very good community organizer. He does not make a good president. Although my idea of a good president has, and will continue to be, called in to question, I know what I like – sort of like abstract art – ya know?

And what I don’t like is right in front of me. I personally do not think we should encourage the use of chemical weapons by not getting super pissed that they’ve been used. I am not at all sure that we should start something we’re not ready to finish in order to prove that we are humane people.

By now, the waffling and waffling around about when, if and how we’re going to “strike” has become nonsensical. If we were going to do it, the time has long since passed. We could store up our ire for the Assad regime and just plan on hitting him sometime around Christmas or thereafter. Or not or maybe or we might or might not. I think it’s obvious that our president does not want to be blamed for doing this if it all turns pear-shaped. And I am fearful that it will. Aggression begets aggression on and on and on. And are we ready to go to war to save Israel or our bases in the Middle East from constant attack? What about those Hezbollah dudes that have probably infiltrated the US – are we ready for more backpack bombs to go off in our cities?  Not that I think we should live in fear – but I think we should seriously think about the Pandora’s Box we may be opening.

And we have to work with what we’ve got. And what we’ve got is a weak president who invites scorn (because that’s what he dishes out) from 1/2 his country’s population. Granted, he won the election. Somebody just forgot to tell him that after winning, you need to lead. You need not to stand in Sweden and tell the world you didn’t say what you said and how we’ve all misread that statement. It wasn’t a stupid statement – it was a good statement – but the reason your red line was ignored is BECAUSE YOU HAVE MADE IT EASY TO IGNORE YOU.  No one would have pulled that chemical weapon’s crap on Ronald Reagan or George Bush – and let me say here to the people who think our country doesn’t want war because George Bush got us into Iraq – listen to this – GWB isn’t president. The conflict in Syria didn’t come about because of his foreign policy. So we can forget about Bush in this context. All I’m saying is if Ronald Reagan had said don’t use chemical weapons and you used them your clothes would be out of style by the time you woke up – if you woke up. And he wouldn’t have asked ANYBODY for permission – being president of the United States was permission enough for him.

Official Portrait of President Ronald Reagan
Official Portrait of President Ronald Reagan (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

All I can say is that I hope this next 3 years goes fast. We have major problems with the Middle East and it’s not going to get easier. And we do have serious interests there. My parents tried to get me to believe that GHWB was only interested in oil and that’s why he got us into the first Gulf War. The word Republican was only ever spoken in their home with the word damn in front of it. Hello? You mean you don’t use oil? Okay. Well I use oil – I have to heat my home with it as do many others in the Northeast. And if it goes to $5 a gallon I’m royally screwed. But we need Mean. Mean with a capital M. All the way Mean. Because this mess in Syria is going to involve all of us.

So I feel sorry for Obama. First, because I’m awfully sure he doesn’t have the least little clue as to why this isn’t working for him and really the job is just too big for the man.  Secondly, because he irritated the very people he’s looking to for help now and couldn’t think ahead to the fact that he would need them. And because he doesn’t understand that what he SAYS as president is what AMERICA says. And so if he’s not going to stick to his guns – don’t get them out. Leave them behind and hope for the best – if you can stand to watch that video of twitching children, that is.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Denise says:

    Thanks for that insight. It’s interesting to hear about these issues from real paper, as opposed to what the papers are telling us!

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    I think it was because I grew up. I’ve always been politically active – since I was 11! I stuffed envelopes, went on campaign appearances – did everything I could for a senator. My parents were raised in the Great Depression. They’re both gone now, but FDR was THEIR president and they stuck with the Democrats for that reason. I became seriously tired of the Democratic party when Clinton ran for president the first time. He wouldn’t have won had another Republican not entered the race and took votes away from Bush. Anyway, I found myself more and more drawn to effective governing which allows people to control their own lives, gives us a free market economy which would now be booming if we didn’t have all this uncertainty all the time. I saw how the country was better off under a Republican government. I don’t at all mind Clinton now – but I wasn’t happy with his half-hearted foreign policies and lack of response to attacks. My parents mistrusted anyone who had money – and disliked them for that reason alone. I decided that if you want economic growth and freedom, I’d be better off with the people who know how to grow an economy and handle money. There’s a lot of posturing about how Democrats help the middle class ……….. they don’t. They talk about it. It’s only the very poor that end up with government help. And I want the government to get out of the way of business so that the economy can grow and I can actually get a job.

    Like

  3. Denise says:

    Oh, another thing I was wondering – it sounds like your parents are Democrats and you are Republican. Or is that too simplistic an interpretation? Anyway it’s just that whatever our intergenerational conflicts, AFAIK we tend to stick to our own family’s political affiliations. So it struck me that yours were different and I wondered what had been behind this? Or whether it was just one of those things?

    Like

  4. Jennifer says:

    I know. I think this is a real dilemma. I don’t think Congress is going to approve any action. We’ll see. Awful choices to make.

    Like

  5. Denise says:

    I have heard people on the TV, who’ve been there and witnessed the most appalling things, and come on and are really pleading for someone to do something. It’s hard to dismiss that. And a friend linked me to a bit of the Senate hearing, (no, I didn’t watch all of it!) The thing was, they all sounded reflective, well informed and sincere. But what difference that will translate to? I don’t know.

    Like

  6. Jennifer says:

    I am so conflicted by Syria! My first response is no – we don’t need to be causing more grief in the world. Back out of it. And I think that’s what will happen. The phony idea that we have to bomb somebody or America will lose credibility makes me say “So?” It’s not like the rest of the world thinks we’re all that great anyway and our egos are big enough to take it! I just can’t wait until we have a president here who can govern the country and maybe help get jobs for the rest of us! I would love to have one of those things you go to every day and come home and every two weeks they pay you! That would be my supreme thrill at the moment!

    I agree that I can’t think of a single time interfering in another country’s war EVER worked out good!

    Like

  7. Denise says:

    I think if there were more examples of where getting involved in someone else’s conflict worked out, I’d be more willing to feel positive about it. (The break up of Yugoslavia is probably the best example I can think of to illustrate the decisive preventative action you describe.)

    Unfortunately over the long term, governments in our parts of the world *have* contributed to the continuation of conflicts in other parts of the world. To being with, by indiscriminately and arbitrarily dividing up regions into “countries”. Since then over time, by taking sides one way or another, thus causing resentment and on a practical level by pumping arms into those regions.

    It was complicated enough in earlier times, that I remember, where conflicts tended to be one side hopelessly banging up against another side. But now I think just as society is becoming multi-dimensional in a good way, different sides are finding it easier to communicate and set themselves up as forces. I think it’s harder than ever to judge which side is the “good” or “best” one to support, and actually even defining it in those terms is something I feel reluctant to do.

    Good post. It’s interesting to talk about things that are bigger and more important than all of us. (Not that we are not all important to each other!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

