Lord Saturn

PIA14944_hires

 

Whenever I am faced with an external obstacle, I tend to look inward to find my way over or through the obstacle in my path. I even try, from within, to change the obstacle into a blessing.

It was brought to my attention in 2005 that my husband would be going through his sade sati in the next few years. This is a period when Lord Saturn enters the constellation before the constellation in which the native’s moon resides and would last 7.5 years. Lord Saturn transits the native’s moon constellation and the one after and then graciously exits, leaving the native quite changed.

The events which have impacted my husband give great credence to this event and it was with some trepidation that I began to look at the position of Lord Saturn in regards to my jyotish horoscope. I found that, as I knew, Lord Saturn is occupying my second house, which impacts speech, communication, money and family life. Well, shoot – I guess that pretty well sums it up.

All is not doom however. Nothing would ever be accomplished without Lord Saturn’s ability to make material that which we dream. And although dreaming alone will not appease Lord Saturn, common sense and stability will.

There are many challenges coming for us as a global family with Lord Saturn and Rahu exactly conjunct each other in transit on September 17.  They are now in the same constellation of Libra and the news regarding the US’s possible entry into a conflict with Syria is just such a panic producing aspect one would expect with this relationship. Sudden shocks to the economy, politics and earth events such as earthquakes, etc. have been predicted. Given the news over the last couple of months I can see a real need to insulate oneself from this constant pressure and urgency in the news. Instead reaching for the remote and changing the channel, or even better, shutting it off is in order! Allowing into your mind-body-soul these upsetting and panic producing vibrations can lead nowhere but to an unsettled self. And now, if ever, is the time to remain settled.

As I read more and more about Lord Saturn, and having recognized him a strong force in my life since birth, I now seek a path to honor, rather than fear him. And my path becomes another sadhana (spiritual practice) encompassing reading, mediation and worship. As the first practice, I am re-reading The Greatness of Saturn by Dr. Robert Svoboda. Having read this some years ago, after being advised of my husband and son’s sade sati coming into being, I now re-read this in a more open and contemplative fashion. I am not rushing to assimilate this text, but rather allowing it to enter my being and be assimilated and digested by me. As important as my daily meditation, this reading will be a ritual for me – an upaya to Sri Lord Saturn.

I know not enough about jyotish at this time in my evolution. But I know enough to know that I want to know more. I want to add to my store of not just empirical knowledge, but non-empirical knowledge of the planetary forces operating and “seizing” my life so that I may cooperate more with the planets and by my spiritual adoration, change their operation in my life to operations of grace. May all beings experience this growth.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Riley Frost says:

    Interesting viewpoint, baring in mind what you’ve said you might be interested in something else I wrote recently: http://rileyfrost.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/what-are-the-concequences-of-military-intervention-in-syria/

    Like

Leave a Reply

