Muffin Happiness

cinnamon

Years ago, in 1998 to be exact, my husband and I toyed with the idea of running a B&B. Little did we know, until looking at several, that they make no money. It is more of a rich man’s entertainment than a business. Now I know there may be some that actually generate and plus income. But these are rare. You will not get rich charging between $65 and $99 a night for a room and breakfast.

I had my sights set on an inn in Vermont. Like who doesn’t? Owning a Vermont B&B was a dream of my generation. Wide open valleys, beautiful snow-capped mountains, people coming to stay with you so they could ski – all these things were appealing.

The inn I liked the best had part of it built in 1775. That’s why I liked it. Unfortunately a consultation with an accountant set me straight. There was just no way that was going to work.

While I was still babying my dream, I did what I always do. I looked for books. Particularly recipe books for that famous breakfast I was going to be serving. And I found Pamela Lanier’s Cinnamon Morning and Raspberry Teas. This book has amazing recipes from savory breakfast dishes which translate as supper dishes to and a plethora of muffin recipes.

Today I’m making Sandy’s Blueberry Muffins, which is a recipe of the Johnson House B&B in Vancouver, BC.  The recipe is supposed to make 24 but I fill the muffin cups up high so I only got 20 today. That’s okay – 20 morsels of blueberry muffin perfection are enough!

Since I can’t give you the recipe without me getting permission first – I suggest you Bing or Google it. It will probably show up. It has the standard ingredients of flour, sugar,  butter, eggs, oil, buttermilk, blueberries, baking powder, salt and the all important lemon rind.

There are soup recipes, entrees, savory pies, potato recipes – on and on in this book. And they are all contributed by the owners of B&B’s all over the States and Canada.

Just so you can have a little taste of the pampering a B&B offers – and your family will think you are marvelous!

muffins

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

