Boy I Miss Michigan!

We lived in Michigan for 16 years. My husband wasn’t that nuts about Detroit – probably because he worked 80 hours a week for 15 years. Hmm.

I, on the other hand, loved it. I even didn’t mind working for lawyers in downtown Detroit. Well, maybe I did a little. But I could always go to lunch! And we had hour-long lunches.

If I wasn’t drinking lunch with my buddy Marty – we would sometimes go to the best place in the world and get totally sick by the time we got back to work – not on booze – on ice cream and chocolate. If you haven’t been to Detroit lately this may tempt you to go

icecreampuff

 

This is Sander’s famous Hot Fudge Ice Cream Puff and it is delicious. I could eat one of these a day – and have! If I was in a really nasty job as some law firm jobs can be – I would go there daily. Unless Marty talked me into going to this bar on the second floor of a building down Lafayette – of course I can’t remember the name of the place. The food was okay but the drinks were really good. And then after work we’d stop at Captain’s on the river in Detroit and have a few Long Island Iced Teas. Talk about getting a buzz! Whew. I couldn’t drink like that now.

I miss so many things about Michigan. My house with my HUGE garden which was a whole lot next to the lot our house was on – the house itself – driving down Jefferson/Lakeshore Drive and seeing Lake St. Clair across the street from my house. Being able to get almost everything right there locally. And the concerts – I saw Placido Domingo in PERSON – he wouldn’t take me with him – I did try but the nuns got in my way.

And I miss birthdays in Michigan. This was my son’s favorite birthday cake

bumpycake

 

and we’d get it every year – not only for birthdays either but whenever we wanted it – it was at the grocery store. This cake is chocolate – of course – with whipped creamy like frosting pumped between the cake and the delicious chocolate fudge frosting. Hence bumpy – because the pastry creme made the bumps. I couldn’t eat more than one piece of this – but DS could!

You hear so much about how bad Detroit is that I wanted to let you know – it’s a great city. We had wonderful places to go like the Detroit Symphony Orchestra and Fisher Hall for concerts and an awesome PBS station and about eight thousand shopping malls – some of which were so high-class you’d have to wear dress up clothes – and an Eddie Bauer and Clairepointe Cafe down in Grosse Pointe Village that made the best potato skins – deep-fried potato peelings covered in mozzarella cheese. Man those were good and we’d top them off with patty melts.

Life was good then. Hubby wasn’t sick. We were younger and we had places to go and things to do. It was a nice life. I do miss it. Love ya Detroit – and really love ya Sanders!

Leave a Reply

