I Have A Peeve ………..

Listen. I have this major peeve. I’m sorry – I know that my opinion probably means nothing – but here it is.

If you are in your late 40s, 50s or 60s please do not go around with faded hair. Just go get some color and color it. Unless your hair looks wonderful and suits your skin. There are people who look good gray – my friend Jane, for instance.

However ……… those of you who have longish hair and usually curly and who just let it fade out and be this horrid complex mess of old lady hair – why are you doing this?

Have you no concern for your appearance? My hair would be salt and pepper if I didn’t color it. I will always color it. It is dark brown and will stay dark brown. It looks awful salt and pepper. I am only 61. I do not need to look like I am 100. Please do not look like that.

I see women who take no trouble with their appearance and I feel bad. I know you feel like you are invisible, particularly after all the attention you got in your twenties. Fine. So be a loud invisible. Don’t quiver and hide in the corner. You have stuff to give – you have a wonderful personality and tons of experience and damn it do not let yourself go.

I guess that it is super important to me to age as gracefully as possible. It is necessary to me to know that I am taking the best care of myself that I can – maybe not always – like I could use some exercise. Now that I have my life back I am going to join the local Y and swim. At least I can do that without passing out. Walking hurts. I have bad knees and stiff hips. So yoga is going to be part of my life too. And I’m taking a correspondence course in Ayurveda. I have wanted to do this forever and now I will.

Can I ask you a question? Don’t you think YOU’D feel better if you looked fresher? Do you remember Moonlighting with Cher and how she was all gray and the night of the opera she went to the hairdresser and had her hair dyed and looked about 20 years younger? It costs at most $12 if you do it yourself. About $65 here if you have someone do it. So like ah – do it. Thanks – this has been a public service announcement.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    My post was prompted by a photo on facebook of two knitters showing ogg,their shawls! Yucko – they could look so much better!

    Like

  2. suth2 says:

    I have tried to keep my hair the same colour it was when I was younger. I have foil tips put in so there is a speckled effect. I don’t want to be grey yet and I am 64. I always feel spritelier the day I have my hair done at the hairdresser.

    Like

Leave a Reply

