The Reveal of the Origami Blouse

Tah Dah! The Origami shirt is complete – except for I maybe don’t like the way the cuff puckers up because I was so dumb I put elastic on the sleeve to gather it. So I’m probably going to cut the cuff off and put on another one. I will like it better. That’s work for tomorrow afternoon.

Also I am putting pictures here of a jacket made using a Jalie pattern – if you haven’t looked at Jalie please do. Her patterns are exquisite and she has many to choose from. You are also supporting a woman in a small business and every size comes in the envelope for you to trace over and use. This jacket has pleats from the shoulders to the waist which gives it such a great shape. Jersey was recommended and I used ponte. Next time it will be a jersey knit which is lighter and stretches more. This jacket is warm so it’s great for winter wear if you’re not in a hot office or something. It also makes a great throw on jacket for going shopping.

It was also quite easy to put together. The worst part was making sure the pleats on the jacket were the same size. No biggy with a marking pen!

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Thank you. I love that jacket. Gorgeous draping.

    Like

  2. Jennifer says:

    It does have a lot of good movement. If it wasn’t dead the black the pleats would show. Next time jersey! She recommends you wear it with a tank.

    Like

  3. Jennifer says:

    You can get them at Pattern Review (dot com), sewingpatterns.com under independent pattern makers and also at jalie.com. If you buy them from Jalie, you get four for buying three!

    Like

  4. Where do I find a Jalie pattern?

    Like

  5. suth2 says:

    I like the way the jacket hangs.

    Like

  6. I can’t even sew a button on a shirt so…Wow! I’m impressed and amazed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

