Mysteries on a Rainy Day

English: Cape Cod beach at sunset, Race Point ...
English: Cape Cod beach at sunset, Race Point Beach Français : Coucher de soleil sur la plage du Cap Cod, dans le Massachusetts (États-Unis). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

Cover of "Kindle Wireless Reading Device,...
Cover via Amazon

 

And I don’t mean ancient mysteries – sorry! I mean honest-to-god good reading snuggling under a quilt mysteries!

 

I am re-reading Phoebe Atwood Taylor‘s Asey Mayo mysteries. I accidentally saw them while browsing the Kindle store and I couldn’t resist. It’s been over 30 years since I’ve read these so I’ve forgotten “who done it” and the writing is so good and the plots are so involved – they make for a great hour or two.

 

I like old mysteries. I would rather read a book written in the 1930s than a book written today. For some reason I just cannot get into current mystery novels. There are a few I love – like Anne Zouroudi‘s Hermes Doktoros mysteries which have a moral and Donna Leon‘s Brunetti series. I like these both because they are set in foreign climes – Zouroudi’s in Greece and Leon’s in Venice.

 

If I were still in my 40s and planning where to retire when my husband quit work – I would say Greece would be top of the list. It is not cold, there is plenty of space unless you want to live in Athens and the ocean is near at all times. But it would definitely be second to Cape Cod or Martha’s Vineyard or Nantucket.

 

Those islands are just not affordable for most of us. For those that can afford it – it must be a dream. Cape Cod and the 1990s real estate prices are why we moved to PEI. The climate is probably pretty much the same. We were a good bit north of Cape Cod but when the Atlantic winds blow it wouldn’t matter. It’s cold. PEI was so cold and the wind blew continuously that I thought I would scream. We had a forest across our pond that hadn’t been cleaned out for a while and that broke some of the wind. There was a wind break on our northeast side too – but for 8 acres in front of the house – it was cleared field and it was cold.

 

I just finished The Cape Cod Mystery and I had previously read The Diplomatic Corpse. The first was a race against time to get Asey’s friend and employer Bill Porter out of jail for murder. Asey went non-stop for three days searching for people and clues or clews as Ms. Taylor wrote. The ending was a complete surprise even though everyone had a reason to kill the murdered person. In fact it was a miracle he was still alive. He had died once and came back to life with a slight revision of his name. Odd how they do that!

 

The Diplomatic Corpse was also a chase across Cape Cod – this time looking for someone with a shaggy beard. Set during a pageant put on for the summer folk and to raise money for the town, this mystery kept switching gears from someone harassing several people to an unlikely person being murdered. There were no lack of suspects again, but Asey finally fingered the correct perpetrator. The murderer thought everyone should know it was okay for him to kill with the reasons he had. Mayo didn’t think so.

 

I’ve recently downloaded the Josephine Tey mysteries with Allan Grant, Elizabeth Daley’s Henry Gamadge mysteries, Edmund Crispin‘s Gideon Fell mysteries, Anthony Berkley’s Roger Sheringham mysteries and a new one for me – Mark Pryor‘s The Bookseller – I couldn’t resist that one, being an old bookseller myself. This one is set in Paris and the bookseller in question is kidnapped. Here’s an editorial review:

 

“A fabulous new thriller writer has entered the game. Mark Pryor’s The Bookseller crackles with intelligence, wit, and insider knowledge. Hugo Marston is a hero to be reckoned with, and the lush Paris backdrop makes you ache to get on a plane. The perfect escapist read—Paris, books, history, intrigue&mdashwhat more can you ask for?” –J. T. Ellison, Author of A Deeper Darkness

bookseller

 

I’m hoping this is one NEW book I love.

 

In between all of these I am reading All Change Please for Book Hub and will be doing a review here shortly. It is a novel about a handful of young women confronted by the death of a close friend and the angst they experience as a result. Not only for the loss of their friend, but for the shallowness of their lives. It is a good read.

 

Cover of "The Cape Cod Mystery: An Asey M...
Cover via Amazon

 

 

Leave a Reply

