Ayurveda and the little I know ………

Ever since I can remember I’ve been fascinated with doing something different. And when it comes to treating my health and those around me, alternative medicine is very appealing.

In the 80s I started going to the most fabulous chiropractor. I kept going even after he left. I switched to one of his partners and continued treatment until we left Michigan in 2000.

Once we got to PEI I tried a few that couldn’t or wouldn’t pop my neck and then I found someone who could. He was good, but a bit arrogant and if I didn’t go every month he would lecture me. He once told me that the reason I didn’t “get on” was because I was intimidating. Snort. Well I figured he didn’t need my $40 bucks anymore …………

I get to Maine and had a really lousy job where I had to get the mail every day. Mostly the mail was envelopes fitting in a bag. One day the home office sent a huge heavy box full of propaganda for one of their areas of practice. That box weighed a good 50 to 75 lbs I had to walk three blocks with it. I had asked for a mail cart – hadn’t got it. So to make a long story long ……….. I hurt my back and went to a chiropractor and filed a comp claim so they’d pay for it. Big mistake. The chiropractor helped the problem, the job people got pissed. I guess they thought a 57-year-old woman should be able to carry 50 lbs whenever and for how ever long ………….. thank God I am no longer there – they made sure of that ………..

While living on PEI – being familiar with Deepak Chopra and his work – I started following Ayurveda and reading everything I could. I used oil sold by Chopra.com and found that it helped the joints immensely.

After arriving in Maine and reading Prakrita by Robert Svoboda, I found Banyan Botanicals. I had taken a dosha quiz on Chopra.com and again on Banyan Botanicals. At that time my dosha seemed to be Vata even though I am heavy, big boned and a natural looking Kapha. I did the dosha quiz again last night and I’m a Pitta/Kapha. Pitta is where I get the angry nasty temper. Kapha is the slow fat stuff. Putting it simply.

prakr1

I bought some herbal supplements and my husband and I started taking them. DH took ashwaganda and mental clarity (even then the memory was a problem) and Triphala. I took Sound Sleep, ashwaganda and lung formula and many others for a long time ……….. I recently started back with the supplements because I just don’t feel as good as I did with them. Of course, being a primary caregiver for a patient with corticalbasal degeneration makes life a little tricky – even when you do feel good. I cannot afford to be ill – I have to keep going because DH can’t do much for himself anymore.

I follow Banyan Botanicals on Facebook. They posted a video for a hot oil massage called Abhyanga. The benefits of this self-massage are amazing. Here’s the list from Banyan of all the GOOD things a hot oil massage does for you

Benefits of Abhyanga (applying oil to the body)

(Outlined in: Charaka SamhitaSushruta Samhita and Ashtanga Hrdayam)

Benefits of applying oil to the body (Abhyanga):
  • Produces softness, strength and color to the body
  • Decreases the effects of aging
  • Bestows good vision
  • Nourishes the body
  • Increases longevity
  • Benefits sleep patterns
  • Benefits skin
  • Strengthens the body’s tolerance
  • Imparts a firmness to the limbs
  • Imparts tone and vigor to the dhatus (tissues) of the body
  • Stimulates the internal organs of the body, including circulation
  • Pacifies Vata and Pitta and Harmonizes Pitta

Benefits of applying oil to the scalp (Murdha taila):

  • Makes hair grow luxuriantly, thick, soft and glossy
  • Soothes and invigorates the sense organs
  • Removes facial wrinkles

Benefits of applying oil to the ears (Karna purna):

  • Benefits disorders in the ear which are due to increased Vata
  • Benefits stiff neck
  • Benefits stiffness in the jaw

Benefits of applying oil to the feet (Padaghata):

  • Coarseness, stiffness, roughness, fatigue and numbness of the feet are alleviated
  • Strength and firmness of the feet is attained
  • Vision is enhanced
  • Vata is pacified
  • Sciatica is benefited
  • Local veins and ligaments are benefited

DH is a Vata and his Vata is way increased, hence the Parkinson’s plus disease. I had a jyotish consultation back in 2005 that predicted this health issue. The ashwaganda and mental clarity he took for a few years staved off the worst symptoms. Since everything I’ve been told by his doctors is that there is nothing they can do – he’s going back on the mental clarity and the ashwaganda. He takes carbadopa/levadopa now and it doesn’t do a thing. He still can’t move hardly at all, his memory is awful and he has no energy. He won’t even shave unless I nag him beyond belief. You cannot imagine the frustration we both feel – he thinks I’m the Big Bad Wolf and I’m absolutely positive he’s Peter Pan. I’ve been told both in 2012 and 2013 that I need to visit nursing homes and start the process now. As one neurologist told me, be proactive on this. DS told me last night, after a particularly rough day, to get it done.  Sigh. I am not looking forward to this.

I stay on focus with meditation. If I couldn’t meditate or if I tell myself I don’t have time – I’m miserable. Meditation cures most ills for me. It even relaxes me enough to allow my neck to go back into place. As most older (ahem) people, my joints ache an especially my knees and hips. I’m up and down the stairs 800 times a day. I do the laundry, the fetching, the cleaning, the cooking, the bathing, etc. There are times when I just have to meditate or else I cave.

I’ve ordered some Pitta balancing oil for my hot oil massage and some Vata for DH. We’re going to let Ayurveda handle the symptoms and see if we can’t get him in a better place. If allopathic medicine just throws its collective hands up – while charging you through the nose for their opinion – then we’re moving on ………………………. and I’m taking Robert Svoboda’s class in Ayurveda – wish I could go to New Mexico to study with Dr. Lad but not in the cards right now …………… Namaste.

Leave a Reply

