Vision ………..

Vision
Vision (Photo credit: -RejiK)

A little definition from Wikipedia first – this explains it much better than I can ……….

Darśan or Darshan (Sanskrit: दर्शन) is a Sanskrit term meaning “sight” (in the sense of an instance of seeing or beholding; from a root dṛś “to see”), vision, apparition, or glimpse. It is most commonly used for “visions of the divine” in Hindu worship, e.g. of a deity (especially in image form), or a very holy person or artifact. One could “receive” darshana or blessing of the deity, or from a great saintly person, such as a great guru.[1]

In the sense “to see with reverence and devotion,” the term translates to hierophany, and could refer either to a vision of the divine or to being in the presence of a highly revered person. In this sense it may assume a meaning closer to audience. “By doing darshan properly a devotee develops affection for God, and God develops affection for that devotee.”[citation needed]

“A devotee develops affection for God, and God develops affection for that devotee” is a place to start on my Vision post. Developing affection for God is fundamental. Do we revere God? Do we have a burning desire to live with God to please God and to touch the face of the Divine? You do once you start on your spiritual ummm not path but journey.

Why love God? God is in every living being, in all substance that makes up the Universe. God is even in nothing – No Thing. God is present in essence and no essence. God lives in trees, grass, flowers, garbage and dirt. God lives. 

I know that my first question – and one I ask myself whenever I am seriously depressed – is “What’s the point?” Who am I falls into this too – as does why was I born. All these most basic questions have an answer – to love God.

Loving God is hard. We are trapped in a world-maya where evil stalks us at the flip of a switch, a glance at a newspaper, the headlines on the Internet. There is evil all over. You can’t run from it and a lot of people will blame God for not curing the world of evil.

Why would God do that? Don’t you get even more interested in finding God and the closeness God wants with you when you are frightened by the specter of evil? Do you not want God more than evil. If you get mad at God – what do you have?

Darshan is another way to peace. I have touched the Divine in meditation. I have touched the Divine chanting. I have touched the Divine reading. I am not lucky enough to have a guru who is here now – I have four in the writings they have left, the very photograph of them, the music they sing and the life they led. I have help loving God.

I have a vision of Sri Lord Krishna right next to me – even so close there is no boundary between us. Lord Krishna is always looking at me with big brown eyes full of love. I go to sleep at night wrapped in his arms sitting on his lap. I am around 5-years-old. He is glad I am with him. I feel his shelter as if it were a wing of an eagle protecting me and keeping me from harm. I feel his love for all of us, even those we see as evil among us.

Darshan. A simple blessing.

Leave a Reply

