Patterns Patterns Patterns

Here are some of the new patterns I’ve purchased recently. Mostly they are from the great McCall’s $1.88 sale and from the Vogue $3.88 sale. I love sale patterns. I bought the Sandra Betzina Tee before and messed up the pattern trying to fit it so I got it again. I also got pattern tracing material so I can keep these nasty tissue patterns together. Now all I need are zip lock bags to fit them all in after I copy them.

You can see why I have such a tough time deciding what to make. And I am taking a video course from Paul Gallo at Craftsy.com to learn fashion draping. I am really into that class. I will have a useable pattern for a dress from that and as you can use each piece – I will also have a basic bodice, sleeve and skirt.

All these patterns necessitate the purchase of fabric. A little history on why I shop or what went wrong in my gene pool …………..

My parents lived during the Great Depression. My mother was born a few days before the stock market crashed on October 29. My father was 13 years old at the time. Dad came from a family of 5 sons and he was chosen to go live with his grandmother in southern Indiana in 1929. There wasn’t enough food to feed all 5 boys. Also I think his grandmother needed help. Her name was Mollie.  Dad spent the 30s helping his grandma and planting tobacco, vegetables, smoking ham – etc.

My mother was the 4th of 5 children – big families back then. My grandfather had been a share cropper and it all dried up in the 30s so they moved to town so my Great Uncle Jack and Grandma could find work. My grandfather did nothing after he didn’t share crop – he was one lazy dude. And my mother had no new clothes, there was precious little food and if she needed new shoes her father sent her to the County to ask for them. My mother hated poverty.  But all the privations of her young life made her not able to enjoy anything.

In 1948 my father went to work for a university as a carpenter. He commuted for a time but winter is long and he was driving on icy roads to get to work and home. When I was 3 we moved to the town where he worked. During most of my growing up years Dad worked two jobs – the one at the university and then he “moonlighted” as a carpenter at night. He remodeled houses for people he met through his work. He had a partner in this and they worked together from 5:00 until 9:30 or so every night. And he worked weekends. Never a day off for him. He said it was for money – but things were not cheerful at our home and I think it was a good escape too. Odd how I married a man who worked 7 days a week and wouldn’t stop. Yech.

So my parents – particularly my mother – were misers. Dad, not so much – he enjoyed what he could buy. Mom was always grousing about what she couldn’t buy because no matter how much you have you always want more. Unlike my mother I have always found a way to earn money. Mom said she couldn’t because of us. Nothing like a little blame and guilt to go a long way. Anyway – I developed the opposite trait of being a miser – I became a spendthrift. Well maybe not THAT bad, but …………

I have always enjoyed fine clothes. I have actually bought designer clothes. I wanted to be a fashion designer in my youth and I would lull myself to sleep planning outfits. I loved pink and black. I loved shoes and would spend my $2 a week allowance on them if there were any I could find. Even if they hurt.

My husband is from Europe. On our second date he took me shopping in Chicago. When we entered Marshal Field’s the first department he headed to was the home department for leaded glass. Really. He had a huge collection of glassware, plates and china and a china cabinet in which to keep them. I married antiques. Ha – and he is 13 years older than I am just like Dad was 13 years older than Mom.

Anyway I was impressed. We got married. We both worked for a time. Then I had our son two years later and stayed home for a year or so. Back to work after that and I didn’t quit working outside the home until our son was 7 and in second grade. I worked at night doing groups and teaching. But I was there during the day so I could get him after school. And I home schooled him from 7th grade through high school.

Back to shopping. So if you have tons of patterns you need fabric. I will not buy cheap fabric. I will not buy fabric at Walmart or JoAnn Fabrics or anywhere I don’t see quality. I shop on the internet because fabric stores for good apparel fabric are not located here in Bangor. So I have some favorite places to find fabric.

First there is Gorgeous Fabrics (http://www.gorgeousfabircs.com), then Emma One Sock (http://www.emmaonesock.com) and Marcy Tilton (http://www.marcytilton.com). And of course Mood (http://www.moodfabrics.com). I buy notions at fabric.com and on and on and on. Also Sew True is a fantastic site for garment design and construction and tailoring supplies.

I like fabric to be a good value which is why I don’t buy cheap fabric. I want what I take the time to make to last. I want to want to wear it. Also the fabric needs to jump at me. And I have to have any idea what to make with a given fabric. Occasionally I will buy fabric just because I love it and decide later but I have had some problems with that. When you find something cool to make and the fabric you want to use is not enough and you can’t get any more of it ……….. you get my point.

So fabric shopping for me is expensive. And, hubbie being retired, the funds for this are not always there. So I choose carefully. But I still choose. I have been known to buy fabric rather than food. Not that we have starved – just that I have left something off the list. Frank Lloyd Wright was well known for not always being able to pay his bills and for running up tabs at the greengrocer, etc. But instead of paying his bills – he bought violins for his children because he thought they were important. There’s me in a nutshell.

So I’m shopping – enjoy your day!

I

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jennifer says:

    Reblogged this on Couture Lunacy and commented:
    This post was from my other blog A Little Fluff ………

    Like

Leave a Reply

