Test Knit Begins!

Well here we go – I’m starting my test knit for Lori Versaci today. It is so comforting to cast on stitches and begin a new project. I had a bit of a problem with choosing my yarn. First, I can never make up my mind about which color. There are so many choices out there. I ordered Rowan Felted Tweed in Horizon but they only had a mixed bunch of that and I didn’t want to wait for a special order – needing to get busy. So I chose to go with either Maritime or Seasalter. Today the Maritime came and it is really pretty. My favorite epitaph for clothing – “That will look really good with jeans.” And this will –

Rowan Felted Tweed DK in Maritime
Rowan Felted Tweed DK in Maritime

Now all I have to do is get it done. I think I have 2 or 3 weeks ………… and that’s power knitting for me.

On top of that, I just got another huge bunch of patterns. I am so into sewing but garment construction will need to wait until I get the test knit done for sure. I cut out

McCalls 6605
McCalls 6605

this in a purple silk print yesterday. I would have started on it but I had to find some matching thread! Geez I hate when that happens. i don’t have every color of thread in the world and I should just stock up when I’m out running around but who thinks to stop and buy thread?  Now I have it and as soon as I can I will get the shirt together. I am sort of hoping to wear it for my in person job interview. It will look nice with jeans. Well maybe I won’t wear jeans for the interview ….

I’ve been reading reading reading too. I finished The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton. I loved it. I really felt for Newland Archer and the description of his despair was palpable. He and his grandmother-in-law were the only two characters that I could really “see” if you know what I mean. May Welland, the New York debutant and Archer’s fiance’ and wife, was just a cipher. Archer began the engagement excited that he would be able to open May’s eyes to the wonders of literature, travel and philosophy. Unfortunately, before the marriage, he begins to understand that there is no awakening to be had for May. She was content – and only capable – of living and thinking the way her parents lived and thought. Even Paris was boring for her except for the clothes she had made there. Dear child. I have been to Paris just once. But I would not ever concentrate on just having clothes made. Paris is a magical place. The magic was lost on May and the magic never touched their marriage.

The triangle between Archer, May and May’s exotic cousin Ellen Olenska provided a reason for Archer to notice that his marriage was a void. If he had not had such passion for Ellen and Ellen’s intellectual capacity, he would never have noticed that his life was empty. After all, it was the life that everyone else led in New York society in the late 1800s.

I won’t spoil the ending in case anyone is interested in reading this great classic. I will just say I loved it.

I’m now re-reading Donna Leon‘s Brunetti – Dressed for Death. Tomorrow the new Brunetti will be available and first thing in the morning it is going to hit my Kindle! It will take two days to read it, but I don’t care. I wish they would last forever. Because of Brunetti we eat a lovely roasted pepper pasta and I want to travel to Venice.

The Grand Canal, Venice
The Grand Canal, Venice (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

On to the power knit!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Good luck. Excited to see the new blouse. Thanks for the book review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

